The Canada Gairdner Awards recognize the world’s most creative and accomplished biomedical scientists who are advancing humanity and the world.

The Canada Gairdner Awards

The Gairdner Foundation was established in 1957 with the main goal of recognizing and rewarding international excellence in fundamental research impacting human health. Seven awards are given each year: five Canada Gairdner International Awards for biomedical research, one John Dirks Canada Gairdner Global Health Award, for impact on global health issues, and one Canada Gairdner Wightman Award, for a Canadian scientific leader. The deadline for 2023 Canada Gairdner Award nominations is October 1, 2022.

The Gairdner Feed

Support Gairdner Programming

Join a community of passionate supporters with a vision to recognize the world’s most creative biomedical scientists and their determination to have an impact on human health.

In Memoriam

Sign Up For Gairdner Emails

For the latest about our awards, events, and news.

You have Successfully Subscribed!