The 2012 Canada Gairdner Award Recipients

Gairdner is pleased to present its 2012 Canada Gairdner Award recipients. 

The Canada Gairdner International Awards are being given in three areas of research. Jeffrey Hall (Emeritus Professor, Brandeis), Michael Rosbash (Brandeis), and Michael Young (Rockefeller) are being recognized for their work on biological clocks. Jeffrey Ravetch (Rockefeller) is being rewarded for identifying the Fc receptors of antibodies, which play a key role in the immune response. Thomas Jessell (Columbia) is being recognized for his research in defining the genetic and molecular pathways leading to the complex development of the spinal cord.

The Canada Gairdner Global Health Award is going to Brian Greenwood (London School of Tropical Medicine) for significantly reducing mortality in children affected with meningitis, acute respiratory infection, and malaria.

The Canada Gairdner Wightman Award for leadership in Canadian medicine goes to Lorne Babiuk (University of Alberta) for his extraordinary national and international leadership in vaccine development.

Profiles and further details on the 2012 Canada Gairdner Award Recipients are available here.

Read More
Join us for the Canada Gairdner 2012 National Program


Including Dr. Eric Kandel, Columbia University

"New Insights into the Brain"

Canada Gairdner Awards SymposiumFriday, October 26

9:00- 3:30

MacLeod Auditorium

Program at:


In the first week of the Gairdner National Program Gairdner laureates spoke across the country, from Newfoundland to Saskatchewan. It was a great success, including 140 high school students from across the island who gathered to hear Lorne Babiuk in Charlottetown. In Edmonton 400 high school students peppered Canada Gairdner award recipients Lorne Babiuk, Howard Cedar and Michael Young with questions about their careers in biomedical research.

This week features 15 more universities centres and three world-level symposiums.

Find the schedule here.

Can't make it to one of our symposiums? All three programs are going to be webcast and will be available to anyone with internet access. Connect to each event below to find out how you can join the Canada Gairdner celebration of science from anywhere.

Saving Children's Lives Worldwide

2012 Recipient Lectures

New Insights Into the Brain


Read More
Second Gairdner Laureate Receives 2012 Nobel

The Canada Gairdner Awards congratulate 1988 International Award winner Dr. Robert J Lefkowitz on receiving the 2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Dr. Lefkowitz of Duke University Medical Center, and Dr. Brian K. Kobilka of the Stanford University School of Medicine received the Nobel ""for studies of G-protein-coupled receptors."

Read More
Gairdner Laureate wins 2012 Nobel Prize

The Canada Gairdner Awards congratulate 2009 International Award winner Dr. Shinya Yamanaka on receiving the 2012 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine.

Dr. Yamanaka of the Institute for Frontier Medical Sciences in Kyoto, Japan, and Sir John B. Gurdon of the Gurdon Institute at Cambridge received the Nobel "for the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent".

Read More
Government Announces New Support for the Gairdner Foundation’s Outstanding Achievements

The Honourable Ted Menzies, Minister of State (Finance) announced on August 24 that the Government of Canada will provide $2 million over the next five years in support of  the Canada Gairdner Awards. Specifically, the new funding will enable Gairdner to enhance its international outreach and profile, and strengthen its adjudication and educational outreach.

Read More
Gairdner President Receives Honorary Doctorate

Gairdner President & Scientific Director John Dirks CM, MD received an honorary doctorate (DSc) from the University of Toronto during the June 5 convocation of the Medical Class of 2012.  Dr. Dirks is a former Dean of Medicine at the University. Dr. Dirks was also inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame in March.

Read More
Meeting the Challenge of Emerging, Acute and Persistent Viral Diseases

A Symposium on Meeting the Challenge of Emerging, Acute and Persistent Viral Diseases was co- sponsored by Gairdner and the Li Ka Shing Virology Institute at the University of Alberta on May 31-June 1, 2012.

Read More
Gairdner Board Members Honoured

The Canada Gairdner Award recipients are not the only members of the Gairdner community receiving honours in 2012. Several members of the Gairdner Board of Directors have been recognized recently for their accomplishments.

Gary Goldberg received a Doctor Honoris Causa from Israel’s Technion University.

Brandt Louie  B COMM, FCA, OBC, President & CEO, H.Y. Louie Ltd. and Chairman, London Drugs Ltd., was welcomed into the Canadian Business Hall of Fame. At the same ceremony, his father, Tong Louie OC, OBC, the former President of H.Y. Louie Ltd. was posthumously inducted. The Canadian Business Hall of Fame honours the outstanding contributions made by Canada's foremost business leaders to the economic growth and development of Canada.

Kevin Lynch PC, PhD, the Vice Chair of the Gairdner Board, was recently named Chair of the Board at Waterloo University, and Joseph Rotman OC, LLD was given the Ontario biotech coalition Life Sciences Ontario (LSO) Lifetime Achievement Award. 


Read More