Stephen Joseph Elledge PhD

Recipient of the Canada Gairdner International Award, 2013
"For elucidation of the DNA damage response as a signaling network that controls DNA repair and genomic stability with profound implications for cancer and other diseases"

Department of Genetics, Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA

Dr. Stephen J. Elledge studied at the University of Illinois as an undergraduate and received his PhD in 1983 at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in Biology. In 1989 he was appointed Assistant Professor in the Biochemistry Department at the Baylor College of Medicine. In 1993 he became an Investigator with Howard Hughes Medical Institute and in 1995 was promoted to Professor. In 2003 he joined the Genetics Department at Harvard Medical School and the Division of Genetics at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital. Currently, Dr. Elledge is the Gregor Mendel Professor of Genetics and Medicine at Harvard Medical School. In addition to a former Helen Hay Whitney Fellow, Dr. Elledge was an American Cancer Society Senior Fellow, and a Pew Scholar. He has received many accolades and awards for his ground breaking research, including: the Michael E. Debakey Award for Research Excellence (2002), the American Association of Cancer Research G.H.A. Clowes Memorial Award (2001), the inaugural Paul Mark’s Prize in Cancer Research (2001), the National Academy of Sciences Award in Molecular Biology (2001), the John B. Carter, Jr. Technology Innovation Award (2002), an NIH Merit Award (2003), the Genetics Society of America Medal (2005), the Hans Sigrist International Prize of Bern University (2005), the Dickson Prize in Medicine (2010), the American Italian Cancer Foundation Prize for Scientific Excellence in Medicine (2012) and the Lewis Rosenstiel Award for Distinguished Work in Basic Medical Sciences (2013). In 2003 Dr. Elledge was also elected into the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, to the American Academy of Microbiology in 2005, and the Institute of Medicine in 2006.